Main Menu

News & Events

Specialist Disability Accommodation Design Standards available

28 Oct 2019

Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) is one of the supports that may be funded under the NDIS for some participants who have an extreme functional impairment or very high support needs.

SDA refers to accommodation for people who require specialist housing solutions, including to assist with the delivery of supports that cater to their extreme functional impairment or very high support needs. SDA does not refer to the support services, but the homes in which these are delivered. SDA may, for example, have specialist designs for people with very high needs or a location or features that make it feasible to provide complex or costly supports for independent living.

At the centre of the NDIS is the need to maximise the choice and control of the participant, and to promote opportunities for social and economic participation. Accordingly SDA should enhance self-determination and create the conditions required for participants to lead vibrant, safe and independent lives.

The Design Standards have been crafted with the intention of improving the lives of participants by assisting them to live in their own home that meets their individual needs and is situated in communities that facilitate social connections and a sense of belonging. The Design Standards focus is on providing a home environment that maximises the capacity of the individual to live as independently as possible incorporating personal support features within contemporary housing practice. Design to reflect an individual’s personality and interests is further encouraged. The diversity of accommodation provided should reflect the diversity of choice available to all members of the community.

SDA should be located on suitable parcels of land that support accessible dwelling and outdoor areas. The site should be in close proximity to public transport and amenity. The NDIS enables participants to choose from a variety of offerings as the SDA market matures, however location and access to amenity will be valued above all as it is in all real estate sectors.

The document sets out the detailed Design requirements that shall be incorporated into new built Specialist Disability Accommodation under the National Disability Insurance Scheme. This SDA Design Standard document is based on the four categories of SDA design which are set out in the SDA Rules, namely:
● Improved Liveability
● Robust
● Fully Accessible
● High Physical Support

From 1st July, 2021, all dwelling enrolment applications for Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) will be required to include a certificate from an Accredited SDA Assessor nominating the Design Category the dwelling to be enrolled satisfies based on the Design Standards established in this document.

For further information on Specialist Disability Accommodation contact 1800 800 110.

LHA News More News

8 Jul 2020

Proposal to include minimum accessibility standards for housing in the NCC

The Consultation Regulation Impact Statement (RIS) addressing a proposal to include minimum accessibility standards for housing in the National Construction Code (NCC) is open for public consultation.


13 May 2020

The Fabric - Altona North by Mirvac

Located just 9 kilometres from Melbourne's CBD and in the heart of the vibrant community of Altona North, The Fabric by Mirvac is set to transform the Inner West.



Receive free updates and information from Livable Housing Australia.



LHA Core Supporters

Mirvac LogoPNG     Stockland LogoPNG

LHA Major Industry Supporters

Property CouncilPNG      MBA colour logo

Community Supporters

Cota LogoPNG      Power Hosing LogoPNG

Corporate Supporters

 Longevity Group Australia Logo               rsz_goldengrove_logo


Training Provider for LHA Assessors

Access Institute